Early voting for the Senate District 14 special election will begin June 29, and on July 14, Travis County and Bastrop County residents will have an opportunity to make their choice for the candidate they would like to see fill the seat of former state Sen. Kirk Watson at the Capitol.

Find Community Impact Newspaper’s Q&A with all candidates for the Senate District 14 race here.

Federal, state courts reject voting-by-mail expansion

A three-judge panel of the U.S. 5th Circuit Court of Appeals on June 4 blocked a lower court’s ruling that would have expanded voting by mail in Texas, effectively blocking the option for Texas voters ahead of November’s general election.

The appellate court’s decision temporarily nullifies a preliminary injunction from U.S. District Judge Fred Biery that would have expanded Texas residents’ ability to vote by mail.

On May 27, the Texas Supreme Court found that a lack of immunity to the coronavirus does not rise to standards necessary to qualify a voter to a mail-in ballot. This ruling kicked off the federal appeals process.


In both Travis and Williamson counties, voters on election day can visit any precinct in their respective counties to cast ballots. Voters are not obligated to vote at the precinct they reside in.

Travis County

For a full list of polling locations, visit https://countyclerk.traviscountytx.gov/elections.

Williamson County

For a full list of polling locations, visit www.wilco.org/departments/elections.


On March 20, Gov. Greg Abbott temporarily postponed primary runoff and special elections statewide until July 14. The runoff elections determine the Democratic or Republican candidates from the original field of candidates for the March 3 primary election earlier this year.

The early voting period for the July 14 special election and primary runoffs runs from June 29-July 10.

*Denotes incumbent


U.S. House, District 10

D: Pritesh Gandhi

D: Mike Siegel

U.S. House, District 17

R: Pete Sessions

R: Renée Swann

D: Rick Kennedy

D: David Anthony Jaramillo

U.S. House, District 31

D: Christine Eady Mann

D: Donna Imam


State representative, District 47

R: Justin Berry

R: Jennifer Fleck


Commissioner, Precinct 3

D: Valinda Bolton

D: Ann Howard

District attorney

D: José Garza

D: Margaret Moore*

County attorney

D: Laurie Eiserloh

D: Delia Garza

Judge, County court at law no. 4

D: Dimple Malhotra*

D: Margaret Chen Kercher