Polls open for early primary voting

Image description
Early voting for the March 3 primary elections begins Feb. 18.
Early voting locations are open for the 2020 primary election.

All locations share the same schedule: Feb. 18-21, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.; Feb. 22, 7 a.m.-7 p.m.; Feb. 23, 1-6 p.m.; Feb. 24-28, 7 a.m.-7 p.m.

Voters in Comal and Guadalupe counties can vote at any voting center open for early voting within their county.

Guadalupe County (red markers)

Seguin Elections Office, 215 S. Milam St., Seguin

Central Texas Technology Center, 2189 FM 758, New Braunfels

Cibolo Fire Station No. 2, 3864 Cibolo Valley Drive, Cibolo

Grace Church, 3240 FM 725, New Braunfels

New Berlin City Hall, 9180 FM 775, New Berlin

Comal County (green markers)

Comal County Elections Office, 396 N. Seguin Ave., New Braunfels

Mammen Family Public Library, 131 Bulverde Crossing, Bulverde

Comal County Offices-Goodwin Annex, 1297 Church Hill Drive, New Braunfels

St. Francis by the Lake Episcopal Church, 121 Spring Mountain Drive, Canyon Lake

Comal County Offices-Bulverde Annex, 30470 Cougar Bend, Bulverde

Garden Ridge City Hall, 9400 Municipal Parkway, Garden Ridge (Voting hours differ on Feb. 27, 7 a.m.-4 p.m.)


New Braunfels Public Library opens applications for online catalog access

New Braunfels and San Antonio metro area residents are eligible.

Nearly half of Central Texas residents have completed the 2020 census as of April 6, U.S. Census Bureau data shows. (Graphic by Community Impact staff)
Nearly half of Central Texas residents have completed the census so far

The census is available in 13 languages online and over the phone, and the print version is available in 59 languages.

A portion of California Boulevard will be closed April 13-30. (Courtesy Adobe Stock)
California Boulevard closure to begin April 13

The construction is expected to last through April 30.

Comal County has reported its 29th case of COVID-19. (Courtesy Adobe Stock)
BREAKING: Bulverde resident's death linked to COVID-19, additional cases reported

On Wednesday the county reported its third COVID-19-related death, as well as two new cases of the disease.

Austin and Travis County adopted new guidelines, recommending local residents wear face masks or fabric covering when out in public. (Christopher Neely/Community impact Newspaper)
5 coronavirus stories Austin-area readers might have missed

Readers might have missed the following five coronavirus-related stories.

Passover, a major observance for members of the Jewish community, begins April 8. Because of the coronavirus pandemic, many services are being held online. (Courtesy Evelyn Rubenstein Jewish Community Center of Houston)
Austin’s Jewish community prepares for Passover observance under quarantine

Synagogues and Jewish organizations in Austin have pivoted to offer online Passover Seders to families in lock down ahead.

Yesenia and Antonio Morales welcomed their fourth child, Luka, on March 31. (Christopher Neely/Community Impact Newspaper)
Pregnancies won't stop in a pandemic, but growing precautions leave expecting mothers uncertain and anxious

As the coronavirus tightens its grip on Austin and much of the world, inevitable human events such as pregnancy and childbirth are having to adapt in the new, cautious and socially distanced reality.

April is National Child Abuse Awareness Month. (Community Impact Staff)
Experts fear increase in child abuse and decline in mental health as coronavirus pandemic persists

Social distancing could cause instances of child abuse to rise while children are no longer in regular contact with adults who normally report abuse.

Coronavirus stories readers might have missed from the Austin area

Here are nine stories Austin-area readers might have missed in our previous coverage.

Gregory Fenves will step down as the president of the University of Texas on June 30, according to a letter he wrote April 7 to the UT community. (Community Impact Newspaper staff)
University of Texas President Gregory Fenves to leave for Emory University in Atlanta

University of Texas at Austin President Greg Fenves announced in a letter to the UT community that he will leave the state’s flagship college for Emory University.

Abbott's order closes all state parks and historical sites effective 5 p.m. April 7. (Courtesy Adobe Stock)
Gov. Abbott closes state parks, historical sites due to coronavirus concerns

Abbott said the closure is to help prevent large gatherings and strengthen social distancing.