Election Guide 2016

* – Incumbent; D – Democrat; G – Green Party; L – Libertarian; R – Republican; Write-in candidates will not appear on the ballot but can be voted for by writing the candidate’s name in the write-in candidate space.

U.S. House of Representatives

Travis County
Texas District 10
Michael T. McCaul*, R
Tawana W. Cadien, D
Bill Kelsey, L

Texas District 25
Roger Williams*, R
Kathi Thomas, D
Loren Marc Schneiderman, L

Williamson County
Texas District 31
John Carter*, R
Mike Clark, D
Scott Ballard, L

Texas House of Representatives

State House representatives are elected to serve two-year terms.

Travis County
Texas District 47
Paul Workman*, R
Ana Jordan, D
Scott G. McKinlay, L

Williamson County
Texas District 20
Terry Wilson, R

Texas District 136
Tony Dale*, R
Paul Gordon, D


Texas Railroad Commission
Railroad commissioners are elected to serve six-year terms.
Wayne Christian, R
Grady Yarbrough, D
Mark Miller, L
Martina Salinas, G

State Board of Education
Education commissioners are elected to serve four-year terms.

District 10
Tom Maynard*, R
Judy Jennings, D

Supreme Court of Texas
State justices are elected to serve six-year terms.

Texas Supreme Court, Place 3
Debra Lehrmann*, R
Mike Westergren, D
Kathie Glass, L
Rodolfo Rivera Munoz, G

Texas Supreme Court, Place 5
Paul Green*, R
Dori Contreras Garza, D
Tom Oxford, L
Charles E. Waterbury, G

Texas Supreme Court, Place 9
Eva Guzman*, R
Savannah Robinson, D
Don Fulton, L
Jim Chisolm, G

Texas Court of Criminal Appeals
Appeals court justices are elected to serve six-year terms.

Texas Court of Criminal Appeals presiding judge, Place 2
Mary Lou Keel, R
Lawrence “Larry” Meyers*, D
Mark Ash, L
Adam King Blackwell Reposa, G

Texas Court of Criminal Appeals presiding judge, Place 5
Scott Walker, R
Betsy Johnson, D
William Bryan Strange III, L
Judith Sanders-Castro, G

Texas Court of Criminal Appeals presiding judge, Place 6
Michael E. Keasler*, R
Robert Burns, D
Mark W. Bennett, L

3rd Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2
Cindy Olson Bourland*, R

3rd Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 4
Melissa Goodwin*, R

Travis County

District attorney
Maura Phelan, R
Margaret Moore, D

County attorney
David Escamilla*, D

Joe G. Martinez, R
Sally Hernandez, D
Eric Guerra, L
Debbie Russell, G

Tax assessor-collector
Bruce Elfant*, D
Steven Haskett, L

Commissioner, Precinct 3
Gerald Daugherty*, R
David Holmes, D

Constable, Precinct 2
Deke Pierce, R
Adan Ballesteros*, D

District judge, 53rd Judicial District
Scott Jenkins*, D

District judge, 98th Judicial District
Rhonda Hurley*, D

District judge, 126th Judicial District
Darlene Byrne*, D

District judge, 167th Judicial District
P. David Wahlberg*, D

District judge, 200th Judicial District
Gisela D. Triana*, D

District judge, 345th Judicial District
Jan Soifer, D

District judge, 353rd Judicial District
Tim Sulak*, D

District judge, 390th Judicial District
Julie Kocurek*, D

District judge, 427th Judicial District
Tamara Needles, D

District judge, 450th Judicial District
Brad Urrutia, D

Judge, County Court at Law No. 8
Carlos H. Barrera, D

Judge, County Court at Law No. 9
Kim Williams, D

Williamson County

District attorney
Shawn Dick, R

Commissioner, Precinct 1
Landy Warren, R
Terry Cook, D

Commissioner, Precinct 3
Valerie Covey*, R
Anthony R. Rector, D

District judge, 26th Judicial District
Donna King*, R

District judge, 395th Judicial District
Ryan Larson*, R

District judge, 425th Judicial District
Betsy F. Lambeth*

Leander ISD

Trustee, Place 3
Chris Remy
Pam Waggoner*

Trustee, Place 4
Grace Barber Jordan*
Scott L. Rowe

Trustee, Place 5
Jim MacKay
Russell Bundy*

Round Rock ISD

Trustee, Place 1
Nikki Gonzales*

Trustee, Place 2
Charles “Chad” Chadwell*

Trustee, Place 7
Tony A. Pitts
Mason Moses

Austin Community College

Trustee, Place 4
George Robinson
Sean Hassan
Michael J. Lewis

Trustee, Place 5
Thomas Miranda
Nicole Eversmann
Anthony Schoggins

Trustee, Place 6
Douglas Gibbins
Nora De Hoyos Comstock

Trustee, Place 9
Guadalupe “Lupe” Sosa
Mitch Fuller
Julie Ann Nitsch
Jeremy Story

City of Austin

Council, District 6
James “Jimmy” Flannigan
Don Zimmerman*

City of Austin bond election

The issuance of $720,000,000 of transportation and mobility improvement bonds and notes for improvements to Loop 360 corridor, Spicewood Springs Road, Old Bee Caves Road Bridge, Anderson Mill Road, intersection of RM 620 and RM 2222, Parmer Lane, North Lamar Boulevard, Burnet Road, Airport Boulevard, East Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard/FM 969, South Lamar Boulevard, East Riverside Drive, Guadalupe Street, Slaughter Lane, William Cannon Drive, Rundberg Lane, East Colony Park Loop Road, South Congress Avenue, Manchaca and South Pleasant Valley Road; sidewalks, Safe Routes to School, urban trails, bikeways, fatality reduction strategies, and the following local mobility substandard streets/capital renewal projects: Falwell Lane, William Cannon Overpass Bridge, FM 1626, Cooper Lane, Ross Road, Circle S Road, Rutledge Spur, Davis Lane, Latta Drive/Brush Country, Johnny Morris Road, and Brodie Lane; and the levy of a tax sufficient to pay for the bonds and notes.

Candidates were selected based on the elections taking place within this newspaper’s coverage area. More election coverage can be found online at communityimpact.com/vote.