UPDATE: Bode, Gonzales-Dholakia, Johnson and Grimes win seats on Leander ISD’s board of trustees


Updated Nov. 7 at 12:16 a.m.

Trish Bode, Gloria Gonzales-Dholakia, Aaron Johnson and Elexis Grimes have been elected to Leander ISD’s board of trustees, according to unofficial results from Williamson and Travis counties.

With 52 out of 59 Williamson County polling locations reporting and 124 out of 143 Travis County polling locations reporting, incumbent Bode earned 47 percent of the votes in the race for Place 1 on the board. Gonzales-Dholakia received 50 percent of the vote for Place 2. Incumbent Johnson received 54 percent of the vote for Place 6, and Grimes earned 62 percent of the votes for Place 7.

Original story posted NOv. 6 at 7:49 p.m.

Leander ISD voters will elect four people to fill seats on the school district’s board of trustees tonight.

According to unofficial early voting results from Travis and Williamson counties, incumbent Trish Bode leads the race for Place 1, Gloria Gonzales-Dholakia leads the race for Place 2, incumbent Aaron Johnson for Place 6 and Elexis Grimes for Place 7 on the board. The board of trustees is responsible for setting policies for the district.

In the race for Place 1, Bode faces candidates Bryan L. Patton and Melissa Glaze. Early voting results show Bode in the lead with 48 percent of the vote, Patton in second with 27 percent and Glaze close behind with 25 percent.

Gary Hampton, Gonzales-Dholakia and Sharyn LaCombe face off for Place 2. The current Place 2 trustee, Don Hisle, decided not to run for re-election after serving on the board since 1995, according to LISD’s website. Gonzales-Dholakia is leading with 51 percent of the vote, according to early voting results. Hampton has 30 percent of early votes and LaCombe has 20 percent.

Johnson is running against Mike Fischer for Place 6. Johnson leads with 54 percent of early votes and Fischer has 46 percent.

Place 7 will be between Grimes and Donnie Mahan. Will Streit, who was elected to the seat in 2008, chose not to run again. According to early voting results, Grimes leads with 61 percent of early votes. Mahan earned 39 percent of early votes.

You may learn more about the candidates by reading this Q&A. This story will be updated as Election Day votes are released. All results are unofficial until canvassed.

Share this story

Leave A Reply

Abby Bora
Abby Bora started at Community Impact Newspaper in May 2017. After working as a reporter, she became editor of the Cedar Park-Leander edition in October 2018. She covers Leander ISD and city government. Bora graduated from Johnson & Wales University in Providence, R.I. with a bachelor’s degree in media and communications studies.
Back to top