Editor's Note: A previous version of this story incorrectly stated that Bee Cave City Council member Andy Rebber would be running for reelection. Former Bee Cave City Council member Jon Cobb will be running unopposed for one of the two at-large council seats, not Rebber.

Local elections are underway in the Lake Travis-Westlake area with several candidates filing to run in the May 4 election.

Bee Cave

Bee Cave Mayor Kara King and council member Courtney Hohl have filed to run in the May 4 election, according to the city. Former city council member Jon Cobb has also filed to run in the election. Current council member Andy Rebber will not be running for reelection.

King, Hohl and Hobb will be running unopposed, and the city will cancel the election, according to city officials.


Four candidates will run for three at-large City Council seats in Lakeway’s May 4 election, according to the city’s website.

Incumbents Kelly Brynteson and Jennifer Szimanski will be running for re-election. Matt Sherman and Christopher Levy have also filed to run in the May election.

Mayor Pro Tem Louis Mastrangelo has reached his term limit, having served three consecutive terms, and is not eligible to run, according to city officials.

West Lake Hills

Four candidates have filed for the May 4 election in West Lake Hills, according to the city’s website.

Former Place 1 City Council member James Vaughn will be seeking the mayor’s seat in the May election. Mayor Linda Anthony will not be seeking re-election.

Place 2 council member Brian Plunkett and Place 4 council member Darin Walker will be seeking re-election in May.

West Lake Hills City Council also called a special election to fill the Place 1 seat on City Council since Vaughn vacated his seat to run for mayor. Former council member Jim O’Connor is temporarily filling the Place 1 seat until after the May election, according to previous reporting by Community Impact.

One candidate, Dana Harmon, has filed to run for the Place 1 seat.

All candidates in the May 4 election for West Lake Hills are running uncontested.

What else?

April 4 is the last day to register to vote, and early voting will be held April 22-30.