Cedar Park's May 2 elections will be delayed to the Nov. 3 uniform election.

During its March 26 meeting, Cedar Park City Council unanimously voted to delay the local election.

The election includes the mayor's seat as well as council Places 2, 4 and 6. Three of four City Council incumbents plan to run for re-election.

The following candidates will be on the ballot, according to the city:

  • Mayor: Jim Richardson, Corbin Van Arsdale (incumbent);

  • Place 2: Bob Cornelius, Mel Kirkland (incumbent);

  • Place 4: Eric Boyce, Jim Penniman-Morin; and

  • Place 6: Dorian Chavez (incumbent), Heather Jefts.

Cedar Park Mayor Corbin Van Arsdale said there has been discussion of alternatives, but if the Cedar Park did not move its election to November, then the city must host its own election.

The resolution follows Gov. Greg Abbott's proclamation March 18, which allows the postponement of local May elections.

Cedar Park City Attorney J.P. LeCompte said the city secretary will send an advisory bulletin to candidates regarding date changes.

Travis County postponed its May 2 elections March 19, and on March 20, the Williamson County Elections Department recommended that local May 2 elections within the county be postponed.

During the March 26 meeting, council also approved an agreement for the Whitestone, Lakeline and Ronald Reagan Turn Lanes project. The agreement is for a sum to not exceed $1,210,701 with Austin Underground Inc., a Jonestown-based company.

A brief COVID-19 update was presented, but no further city action was made.