Local and state races will be on the upcoming primary election ballot for Bastrop County residents. Sheriff, Precinct 1 commissioner and Precinct 2 justice of the peace positions are up for election this year with multiple Republican candidates.

Texas will hold Republican and Democratic primaries March 5 to determine who will be on the ballot in November, according to the Texas Secretary of State website.

Dates to know
  • Feb. 5: Last day residents can register to vote in primary elections
  • Feb. 20: First day of early voting
  • Feb. 23: Last day to apply for a ballot by mail
  • March 1: Last day of early voting
  • March 5: Election day
  • March 5: Last day to receive ballot by mail (or March 6 if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7 p.m. at the location of the election on election day)
On the ballot

Community Impact has compiled this year’s state and county candidates who will be appearing on the March 5 primary ballot for voters in Bastrop County. To see a list of candidates who have filed for federal races, look here.

Only candidates in contested elections are included below. There are no contested elections in the Batsrop Democratic primary. Visit the Texas secretary of state website for a comprehensive list of federal, state and county candidate filings.

(I) indicates incumbents.

  • Gregg Castillo
  • Maurice Cook (I)
  • Jeff Gogolewski
Commissioner, Precinct 1
  • Charles Brading
  • Butch Carmack
  • Dominica McGinnis
Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2
  • Charity Alexander
  • Zachary Carter (I)
  • Christina Ervin-Cannon
  • Ty McDonald
  • Karen Thompson