Seats open on Spring and Klein ISD boards of trustees

Two seats are available on the board of trustees at both Spring and Klein ISDs this year.

The deadline for candidates to file to run in the Nov. 7 election is Aug. 21.

The three-year seats available in SISD are currently occupied by Rhonda Faust—who was first elected to the board in 2011—and Rhonda Newhouse, who was elected in 2014.

Steven Smith, KISD board member and secretary, resigned in June, and his three-year term ends in November. He was first elected to the board in 2011. Georgan Reitmeier’s three-year term on the KISD board also ends this year. She was first elected to the board in 2005.

By Vanessa Holt
A resident of the Houston area since 2011, Vanessa began working in community journalism in her home state of New Jersey in 1996. She joined Community Impact Newspaper in 2016 as a reporter for the Spring/Klein edition and became editor of that paper in March 2017 and editor of The Woodlands edition in January 2019.