Texas Gov. Greg Abbott signs bill to allow Montgomery County voters to elect Lone Star Groundwater Conservation District board members


A bill authored by several Montgomery County legislators to elect and not appoint Lone Star Groundwater Conservation District board members was signed into law Thursday by Gov. Greg Abbott.

House Bill 1982 was authored by state Rep. Will Metcalf, R-Conroe, state Rep. Mark Keough, R-The Woodlands and state Rep. Cecil Bell, R-Magnolia. The Senate companion bill, SB 2250, was authored by state Sen. Brandon Creighton, R-Conroe and state Sen. Robert Nichols, R-Jacksonville.

“Months of discussions with constituents and stakeholders have resulted in the HB 1982 being presented in the legislature and ultimately passed,” Keough said. “I am proud to be working with the entire Montgomery County delegation to bring change to this important board, ultimately placing the taxpayers in charge of the future of this board.”

The bill also reduces the size of the board from nine to seven members. Four members will be elected by voters in each county precinct, one will be elected at-large, and the remaining two positions will be voted on by residents in The Woodlands and Conroe.

The new law also creates term limits for the board, which would permit officials from serving for more than three, four-year terms.

The bill goes into effect Sept. 1.


Comments are closed.

Marie Leonard
Marie came to Community Impact Newspaper in June 2011 after starting her career at a daily newspaper in East Texas. She worked as a reporter and editor for the Cy-Fair edition for nearly 5 years covering Harris County, Cy-Fair ISD, and local development and transportation news. She then moved to The Woodlands edition and covered local politics and development news in the master-planned community before being promoted to managing editor for the South Houston editions in July 2017.
Back to top