UPDATE: 4 candidates apply for Fort Bend ISD trustee positions


Updated Jan. 31

As of Jan. 31, four candidates have filed for the now three Fort Bend ISD board of trustee positions—3, 5 and 7—up for election that will take place on May 4.

The official window for candidates to file for election opened Jan. 16.

Jim Rice announced his intention to run for re-election to Position 3 in December and has already filed his paperwork ahead of the window. He was first elected to the position in 2010.

David Rosenthal is the Position 7 trustee. He was first elected to the board in 2012. Rosenthal has not confirmed if he is running again.

If Rosenthal decides to run, he will face opposition from two others:

Meanwhile, Cynthia Lenton Gary applied for Position 5, vacated by KP George when he took office as Fort Bend County Judge on Dec. 31.

On Jan. 20, Fort Bend County Judge KP George posted a Facebook message urging his former colleagues on the Fort Bend ISD Board of Trustees to fill his vacant seat.

George’s Position 5 seat is up for election in 2020.

Trustees are elected to three-year terms on a rotating basis. Two are elected each year, one from each side of the district—positions 1, 2 and 3 are on the west, and positions 5, 6 and 7 are on the east. Also, every third year, the at large Position 4 is elected, and the term end for this position in 2020.

Fort Bend ISD

Fort Bend ISD board division map (via Fort Bend ISD)

The deadline to file is Feb. 15. Office hours are Monday-Friday 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. to drop off applications at Fort Bend ISD, 16431 Lexington Blvd., Room 103, Sugar Land, or mail in filled-out candidate packets to the same address.

Share this story

Leave A Reply

Christine Hall
Christine Hall joined Community Impact Newspaper in October 2018, and covers Missouri City and Fort Bend ISD. She previously reported on health care innovation for the Texas Medical Center, was a freelancer, and held various news roles at the Houston Business Journal.
Back to top