Humble ISD trustees honored the district’s elementary school teachers of the year during the board’s Oct. 17 meeting.

The overview

District officials said the teachers were chosen by their peers to represent their respective campuses throughout the 2023-24 school year as the campus teacher of the year.

At the meeting, each teacher was presented with an award to commemorate their accomplishment.

The 2023-24 Humble ISD elementary teachers of the year include:
  • Cristina Doyle, Atascocita Springs Elementary
  • Demetria Claybon, Autumn Creek Elementary
  • Chandra Pollart-Grabowski, Bear Branch Elementary
  • Tra’Shonda Smith, Centennial Elementary
  • Rachelle Thomas, Deerwood Elementary
  • Briana Edwards, Eagle Springs Elementary
  • Holly Jackson, Elm Grove Elementary
  • Tiffany Rodee, Fall Creek Elementary
  • Amanda Batsell, Foster Elementary
  • Laura Smith, Greentree Elementary
  • Susan Mitchell, Groves Elementary
  • Lisa Sherrill, Hidden Hollow Elementary
  • Abigail Daley, Humble Elementary
  • Nakyta Adolphin Chambers, Jack Fields Elementary
  • Sonia Ojeda, Lakeland Elementary
  • Jennifer Ross, Lakeshore Elementary
  • Lisa Cruz, Maplebrook Elementary
  • Randi Cormier, North Belt Elementary
  • Mary Canavan, Oak Forest Elementary
  • Susan Abdelmessih, Oaks Elementary
  • Lucy Hernandez, Park Lakes Elementary
  • Jennifer Eakin, Pine Forest Elementary
  • Caitlin Ripley, Ridge Creek Elementary
  • Abigail Pardo, River Pines Elementary
  • Rachel Rice, Shadow Forest Elementary
  • Angel Lewis, Summerwood Elementary
  • Kathryn Hofmann, Timbers Elementary
  • Megan Schultz, Whispering Pines Elementary
  • Paul Touchstone, Willow Creek Elementary
  • Amy Hays, Woodland Hills Elementary
What they’re saying

Trustee Michael Grabowski, husband of Bear Branch Elementary teacher of the year Chandra Pollart-Grabowski, congratulated the winners.

"Tonight we honored 30 [teachers] as teacher of the year," Grabowski said. "Just the teachers vote on teachers of the year. That’s a truly honorable way to get an award."