Four candidates are running to fill two seats on Katy City Council in the upcoming May election.

The filing period for the May 1 election opened Jan. 13 and closed Feb. 12. Katy voters will elect council members for Wards A and B for three-year terms.

Two candidates, Diane Robichaux Walker and Dan Smith, are seeking the Ward A seat, according to the city secretary’s office.

Council Member William "Dusty" Thiele, who was appointed in November to fill a vacancy in Ward A, is not seeking re-election.

Two candidates also are seeking the Ward B seat: incumbent Ward B Council Member Jenifer Jordan Stockdick and Gina Hicks.

Early voting for the election will run from April 19-27, according to the Texas Secretary of State’s Office.