Candidates for school board races in Katy ISD and Lamar CISD have submitted filing forms ahead of the May 6 general election.

In Katy ISD, positions 3, 4 and 5 are up for election.

Position 3 is currently held by Ashley Vann, who serves as the board of trustees secretary. Position 4 is held by Board Member Leah Wilson. Greg Schulte is the board member for Position 5 and also serves as the board president. Neither Vann nor Wilson opted for re-election this May.

Lamar CISD is hosting elections this year for single-member districts 4, 5 and 7.

These positions are currently held by Joy Williams in District 4, Jon Welch in District 5 and Alex Hunt in District 7. All three have held their seats since 2019. Hunt serves as board president for Lamar CISD. Williams currently serves as board vice president and did not file for re-election.

April 6 is the deadline for voter registration. Early voting begins April 24 and ends May 2. Early voting locations for Katy ISD can be found here. Voting locations for Lamar CISD will be determined by the Fort Bend County Elections Office.

Here is a full list of the candidates who filed in each of the school district’s races:

Lamar CISD candidates

District 4
  • Jacci Hotzel
  • Craig LeTulle
District 5
  • Brian Moore
  • Jon Welch
District 7
  • Suzanne Box
  • Alex Hunt
Katy ISD candidates

Position 3
  • Amy Thieme
  • Bruce Bradford
  • Shawn Miller
Position 4
  • Morgan Calhoun
  • Erica Brettell
  • Cicely Taylor
Position 5
  • Mary Ellen Cuzela
  • Greg Schulte
  • Shana Peterson
Editor's Note: This article has been changed to accurately show Shana Peterson as a candidate for Katy ISD board of trustees Position 5 only.