Two Katy ISD principals have been named Texas Distinguished Principal finalists by the Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association, according to a news release from the district.

The five total finalists are all from the Houston area, the release said. Doreen Martinez, principal of Memorial Parkway Elementary School, and William Rhodes, principal of Bryant Elementary School, are the two finalists from KISD.

One of the five finalists will take home the Texas National Distinguished Principal honor in May along with $10,000 and the opportunity to represent Texas at the 2021 NDP gala in Washington, D.C., according to the release.

TEPSA received 137 nominations from principals across Texas for the 2021 Texas NDP award. After a rigorous reading process, in which applicants shared their educational philosophies and professional accomplishments, a peer-review committee selected the finalists. The leaders will showcase their achievements during a virtual school visit by a team of educators, the release said.

“Both Katy ISD principals are known to incorporate innovative ways of educating their students, even more so during the adversities associated with this past year’s COVID-19 pandemic,” Dawn Carlson-Scruggs, assistant superintendent for school leadership and support, said in the release. “Katy ISD is known to have some of the best educators and school leaders in the nation, and we are proud to see the District represented at this event.”

Finalists will be recognized at the TEPSA awards reception this summer.