During its Feb. 27 meeting, Montgomery City Council approved an ordinance declaring the unopposed candidates in the May 4 election elected to office and subsequently canceling the election.

In a nutshell

With the election’s cancellation, Place 3 Councilmember Sara Countryman will be Montgomery’s next mayor, after current Mayor Byron Sanford did not file for re-election. Additionally, Place 2 and Place 4 council members and incumbents Casey Olson and Cheryl Fox, respectively, will serve another term.

The unopposed candidates will not assume their offices until the date at which election results would have been canvassed, according to the Feb. 27 agenda packet.

Learn more

View the Feb. 27 agenda packet below.