With Monday’s 5 p.m. candidate filing deadline now passed, it appears three of five single-member trustee districts in Austin ISD will be contested this coming November.

Two current trustees are running unopposed in the Nov. 6 election: board President Geronimo Rodriguez and Vice President Yasmin Wagner.

Three candidates filed to fill the currently vacant seat in District 9, which represents one of the board’s two at-large seats.

Trustee Julie Cowan, who serves in District 4 and as the board’s secretary, did not file and is not running for re-election.

The following candidates filed to be on the Austin ISD ballot for the November election. Incumbents are marked with an asterisk, and names are listed as they appeared according to Austin ISD's election website.

District 1

  • *Edmond (Ted) Gordon

  • LaTisha Anderson

District 4

  • Kristin Ashy

  • Zachary Price

District 6

  • *Geronimo Rodriguez

District 7

  • *Yasmin Wagner

District 9

  • Arati Singh

  • Carmen Tilton

  • Sam Russo