Final result: Democrats Vikki Goodwin and Elaina Fowler head into runoff election for state District 47 contest


State representative, District 47

Final update

With all votes tabulated, according to the Travis County Clerk’s site, Democrat Vikki Goodwin secured 33.64 percent of the primary vote to best next closest challenger Elaina Fowler. Fowler won 29.18 percent of the vote, necessitating a runoff May 22.

The winner will go up against Republican incumbent Paul D. Workman who won 60.07 percent of his March 6 primary vote against two challengers.


Second update

Final vote counts in the March 6 primary, with more than 89 percent tabulated, show Democrat Vikki Goodwin won 33.58 percent support and her nearest opponent Elaina Fowler won 29.21 percent.

The two will face one another in a runoff election May 22 before November’s race for the state District 47 seat against Incumbent Republican Paul D. Workman, who won his primary March 6 with 60.07 percent of the vote over two opponents.

Update: 8:45 p.m.

Incumbent Paul D. Workman continued to lead the Republican primary race for state representative, District 47 against two opponents. Workman held 60.07 percent of the vote to 31.53 percent for Jay Wiley and 8.4 percent for Patty Vredevelt.

Original post

Incumbent Paul D. Workman led the Republican primary race for state representative, District 47 against two opponents as of 7:20 p.m. March 6.

District 47 has a total population of about 190,000 constituents, and takes in the city of Bee Cave, Briarcliff, much of the Four Points community, the city of Lakeway, Spicewood, the Village of The Hills and parts of unincorporated western Travis County according to Texas Legislature Online.


In the Democratic primary race, Vikki Goodwin still led at 8:30 p.m. with 35.11 percent of the vote followed by Elaina Fowler with 28.22 percent.

Sheri Soltes-23.99 percent

Candace Aylor-6.95 percent

Will Simpson-5.72 percent

Vikki Goodwin led the parallel Democratic primary race against four opponents.

If no candidate gets more than 50 percent of the votes, there will be a runoff between the two individuals with the highest number of votes.

Original post 7:20 p.m.

Sheri Soltes-23.99%
Will Simpson-5.72%
Elaina Fowler-28.22%
Vikki Goodwin-35.11%
Candace Aylor-6.95%


Original post 7:20 p.m.

Patty Vredevelt – 9.30%
Jay Wiley – 31.22%
Paul D. Workman* – 59.47%

All results are unofficial until canvassed. For more local primary election results and coverage, visit


Share this story

Leave A Reply

Sally Grace Holtgrieve
Sally Grace Holtgrieve solidified her passion for news during her time as Editor-in-Chief of Christopher Newport University's student newspaper, The Captain's Log. She started her professional career at The Virginia Gazette and moved to Texas in 2015 to cover government and politics at The Temple Daily Telegram. She has been covering the Lake Travis/Westlake area for Community Impact since February 2018.
Back to top