Three of the five local elected positions slated for the May ballot drew multiple candidates, and the other two saw their incumbents unopposed for re-election.

Frisco Mayor Jeff Cheney will serve a second term, and Debbie Gillespie will continue as Frisco ISD's Place 5 board of trustee member with a fourth term.

Cheney was elected mayor in 2017 after serving on the Frisco City Council from 2007-2016. Gillespie was first elected to the board in 2011 and also serves as a board officer for the Texas Association of School Boards.

With council Place 5 incumbent Tim Nelson reaching his term limit this year, seven candidates filed to run for his open seat in the upcoming election. Rob Cox, Hava Johnston, Ram Majji, Josh Meek, Ruan Meintjes, Laura Rummel and Dan Stricklin will all appear on the May 2 ballot for the Place 5 seat.

Place 6 incumbent Brian Livingston drew two challengers in his bid to serve a second term on the council. Votes will choose from among Livingston, Sadaf Haq and Sai Krishna in May.

As the only other FISD board seat up for election, the Place 4 position saw four candidates file to run after incumbent Anne McCausland announced she would not seek re-election. Dynette A. Davis, Sean Heatley, Muni Janagarajan and Amit Kalra are each seeking election to the board.

The last day to register to vote in the May 2 election will be April 2. Early voting for the election is slated to run from April 20-28.