As the March primaries approach, some local and state candidates will see challengers from their own parties as well as some uncontested races in Hays County.

According to the Texas Secretary of State office’s website, Texas will hold Republican and Democratic primaries on March 5 to determine who will be on the ballot in November.

In addition to the presidential and statewide contests, several county and judicial district-level positions will be on the March 5 ballot, where voters can opt to weigh in on which candidate will represent their political party.

Dates to know

  • Feb. 5: Last day to register to vote or change your address

  • Feb. 20: First day of early voting

  • March 1: Last day of early voting

  • March 5: Primary election day

On the ballot

Incumbent Erin Zwiener is being challenged in the Democratic primary for state representative of District 45 by Chevo Pastrano. The winner of that election will face Republican Tennyson Moreno in the November general election. Moreno does not have any Republican primary challengers.

Hays County Precinct 3 Commissioner Lon Shell is not seeking re-election. The Republican was first appointed to the Hays County Commissioners Court in 2017. Two newcomers, Morgan Hammer and Teresa Shell, are vying to replace him in the Republican primary.

Two Democrats are running for Hays County sheriff—Daniel Law and Alex Villalobos. One of them will face Anthony Hipolito who is unchallenged in the Republican primary. Hays County Sheriff Gary Cutler is not seeking re-election.

Precinct 1 Commissioner Debbie Ingalsbe is being challenged in the Democratic primary by Alyssa Ramirez. No Republicans filed in that race, according to the Texas Secretary of State office's website.

The Republican Party is also not fielding a candidate for the open seat of Hays County tax assessor-collector. Four Democratic candidates filed for the position.

On the ballot

State representative, District 45 (Democratic candidates)
  • Erin Zwiener (incumbent)
  • Chevo Pastrano
Hays County sheriff (Democratic candidates)
  • Daniel Law
  • Alex Villalobos
Hays County tax assessor-collector (Democratic candidates)
  • Jennifer M. Escobar
  • Vianna Garza
  • Cynthia Millonzi
  • Jessica Sanchez
Hays County commissioner, Precinct 1 (Democratic candidates)
  • Debbie Gonzales Ingalsbe (incumbent)
  • Alyssa Ramirez
Hays County commissioner, Precinct 3 (Republican candidates)
  • Morgan Hammer
  • Teresa Shell
Justice, 3rd Court of Appeals, Place 2 (Democratic candidates)
  • Maggie Ellis
  • Edward Smith
  • Melissa Lorber
Justice, 3rd Court of Appeals, Place 5 (Democratic candidates)
  • Thomas Baker
  • Karin Crump
District Judge, 483rd Judicial District (Democratic candidates)
  • Alicia Key
  • Joseph Aragon
  • Sarah Brandon
Hays County justice of the peace, Precinct 1, Place 1 (Democratic candidates)
  • Nicholas Costilla
  • Jo Anne Prado
Hays County justice of the peace, Precinct 2, Place 2 (Democratic candidates)
  • Amanda K. Calvert
  • Janie Flores
  • Paul Hill
  • J.R. Mendoza (Incumbent)
  • Andrea Villescaz
Hays County constable, Precinct 1 (Democratic candidates)
  • Lorenzo Gonzalez
  • David Lois Peterson (incumbent)
U.S. Rep., District 35 (Republican candidates)
  • Dave Cuddy
  • Brandon Craig Dunn
  • Rod Lingsch
  • Michael Rodriguez
  • Steven Wright
U.S. Rep., District 15 (Republican candidates)
  • Vangela Churchill
  • Monica de la Cruz (incumbent)
U.S. Rep., District 15 (Democratic candidates)
  • John Villarreal Rigney
  • Michelle Vallejo