Georgetown ISD board of trustees members Elizabeth McFarland, James Scherer and Cody Hirt were sworn in for their three-year terms during a regular board meeting May 16.

"I am excited and thankful for the opportunity to serve Georgetown," Scherer said to Community Impact Newspaper. "My goal is to ensure our children have multiple paths to success and the tools required to compete and achieve at the next level."

McFarland, Scherer and Hirt were elected in the May 7 general election.

Scherer won with 4,594 votes, or 46.1%, against opponents Eric Lashley and Brian Flachs.

McFarland led with 5,660 votes, or 56.55%, against Allen Brown.

Hirt earned 4,995 votes, or 49.4%, against Tania Easton and Eric Marin.

The board of trustees also voted to appoint its leadership for the next year. McFarland was named president; Melanie Conner was selected as vice president; and Stephen Benold was selected as secretary. Each member was approved for his or her new post unanimously.

To learn more about the board of trustees, visit