Kathleen Jackson will serve as the interim chair of the Public Utility Commission of Texas, according to a news release.

Gov. Greg Abbott appointed Jackson to lead the state energy regulatory agency on June 7. She will remain in the role until a permanent chair is announced.

How we got here

Peter Lake resigned as chair of the commission on June 2. He took over as head of the PUC in April 2021, after former commissioners resigned in the wake of Winter Storm Uri.

During his term, Lake led the commission through significant changes to improve the state’s power grid. The PUC and the Electric Reliability Council of Texas are implementing continued reforms under the direction of the Texas Legislature.

Lake will remain a commissioner until July 1.

Abbott will appoint Lake’s replacement. Under state law, the PUC must consist of five commissioners who serve staggered six-year terms.

Quote of note

“I’m honored and humbled by Gov. Abbott’s trust and confidence in me to lead the Public Utility Commission at this very important time for the agency and for Texas,” Jackson said in a news release. “I look forward to working closely with my fellow commissioners to ensure Texas consumers have reliable and affordable power in our fast-growing state.”

The details

Jackson was appointed to the PUC in August 2022. The Beaumont native is a registered professional engineer and has experience in petroleum production, agriculture, water management and more, according to the commission.

Before joining the PUC, Jackson served on the Texas Water Development Board.