Updated Nov. 9, 12:30 p.m.

Here are the latest results in Texas' key statewide races with 100% of counties and 92% of polling locations reporting.


Gov. Greg Abbott has secured a third term as chief executive of Texas, beating Democratic challenger Beto O'Rourke. Abbott received 4.42 million votes, or 54.82%, while O'Rourke received 3.53 million, or 43.8%.

This was O'Rourke's third time unsuccessfully running for a higher office in four years. He previously ran for U.S. Senate in 2018 and was a candidate in the 2020 Democratic presidential primary.

Lieutenant governor

Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick defeated Democratic candidate Mike Collier for a third term in office. Patrick gained 4.3 million votes, or 53.82%, compared to Collier's 3.47 million votes, or 43.42%.

Collier was endorsed by current and former Republican officials, including Tarrant County Judge Glen Whitely and state Rep. Lyle Larson, R-San Antonio.

Attorney general

Attorney General Ken Paxton beat Democratic candidate Rochelle M. Garza, winning his third term as Texas' top lawyer. Paxton received 4.26 million votes, or 53.48%, while Garza received 3.48 million votes, or 43.6%.

Paxton faces charges for securities fraud from 2015 and is being investigated by the FBI for alleged abuse of office. He has denied wrongdoing in both cases.

Comptroller of public accounts

Comptroller Glenn Hegar will remain in office for a third term after beating Democratic candidate Janet T. Dudding. Hegar had 4.48 million votes, or 56.45%, while Dudding had 3.25 million votes, or 40.88%.

Commissioner of the general land office

Republican candidate Dawn Buckingham will be Texas' next general land commissioner after defeating Democratic candidate Jay Kleberg. Buckingham gained 4.45 million votes, or 56.22%, while Kleberg gained 3.33 million votes, or 42.09%.

There was no incumbent in this race. Commissioner George P. Bush, who was first elected in 2014, did not run for re-election. Bush unsuccessfully ran to unseat Attorney General Ken Paxton in the 2022 Republican primary.

Commissioner of agriculture

Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller beat Democratic candidate Susan Hays for a third term in office. Miller received 4.46 million votes, or 56.39%, while Hays received 3.45 million votes, or 43.61%.

Railroad commissioner

Railroad Commissioner Wayne Christian secured his second six-year term after beating Democratic candidate Luke Warford. Christian had 4.39 million votes, or 55.42%, while Warford had 3.2 million votes, or 40.49%.

The Texas Railroad Commission is made up of three commissioners, who each serve overlapping six-year terms. Christian serves as chair of the commission.

Election results are unofficial until canvassed. Visit communityimpact.com/voter-guide to see results from all local elections in your community.