The candidate filing deadline for the March primaries closed Dec. 11, and numerous applicants filed for positions to represent the northeast part of Tarrant County.

In addition to presidential and statewide candidates, several county-level positions will be on the ballot March 5. Voters will have a chance to weigh in on which local candidate will represent their political party in the November election.

The details

According to the Texas secretary of state office’s website, local elected positions and the individuals who filed and are in contested races are as follows:

Tarrant County sheriff
  • Patrick Moses (Democrat)
  • Indya Murray (Democrat)
  • Bill Waybourn (Republican, incumbent)
Tarrant County tax assessor-collector
  • KC Chowdhury (Democrat)
  • Rick Barnes (Republican)
  • Wendy Burgess (Republican, incumbent)
Tarrant County Criminal District judge, No. 2
  • Marquetta Clayton (Democrat)
  • William Knight (Republican)
  • Glynis McGinty (Republican)
U.S. House representative, District 24
  • Sam Eppler (Democrat)
  • Francine Ly (Democrat)
  • Beth Van Duyne (Republican, incumbent)
U.S. House representative, District 26
  • Ernest Lineberger III (Democrat)
  • Scott Armey (Republican)
  • Neena Biswas (Republican)
  • Vlad De Franceschi (Republican)
  • Brandon Gill (Republican)
  • John Huffman (Republican)
  • Luisa Del Rosal (Republican)
  • Jason Kergosien (Republican)
  • Joel A Krause (Republican)
  • Doug Robison (Republican)
  • Mark Rutledge (Republican)
  • Burt Thakur (Republican)
State Board of Education, District 11
  • Rayna Glasser (Democrat)
  • Brandon Hall (Republican)
  • Pat Hardy (Republican)
Texas House representative, District 63
  • Michelle Beckley (Democrat)
  • Denise Wooten (Democrat)
  • Carlos E. Andino Jr. (Republican)
  • Ben Bumgarner (Republican, incumbent)
  • Vincent Gallo (Republican)
Texas House representative, District 65
  • Mitch Little (Republican)
  • Kronda Thimesch (Republican, incumbent)
Texas House representative, District 98
  • Scott Bryan White (Democrat)
  • Giovanni Capriglione (Republican, incumbent)
  • Brad Schofield (Republican)
Dates to know

Feb. 5: Last day to register to vote or change your address

Feb. 20: First day of early voting

March 1: Last day of early voting

March 5: Primary election day