The New Braunfels ISD Board of Trustees held a special meeting Aug. 15 to discuss a board member vacancy and the reorganization of the board in an executive session.

NBISD Board of Trustees President Wes Clark resigned from his position on Aug. 6.

After discussion during the executive session, multiple changes were made to reorganize the board. Former NBISD Vice President Eric Bergquist was approved as the new board president. Previously the Secretary of NBISD, Nancy York was nominated by the board to fill the position of vice president. Trustee Steve Minus was nominated as the new board secretary.

“On Saturday, Aug. 6, the NBISD Board along with Dr. [Cade] Smith and myself received correspondence from President Wes Clark that indicated that due to unforeseen professional and personal circumstances, he would need to resign from the Board of Trustees immediately due to not having the necessary time and effort to devote to the role,” Bergquist said.

Clark was elected in May 2022 with his term set to end in 2025. Clark graduated from New Braunfels High School in 1999 and was elected to the board in 2013 and reelected in 2016 and 2019.

“I think it is important to recognize the nine and-a-half years of dedicated service he has given to the board, and for this, we are tremendously grateful,” Bergquist said.

Bergquist said the board is considering appointing a new trustee in order to avoid holding a special election.

“At this time we are exploring the option of an appointment to the board over a costly special election. We want to be very thoughtful and make the best decision for the school district, therefore, no action will be taken at this time,” he said.

The new NBISD Board of Trustees President Bergquist previously represented District 3 as Vice President and was elected in May of 2021 with his term expiring in 2024. He began his first term on the NBISD Board of Trustees on May 21, 2018, and graduated from New Braunfels High School in 1987.

More information about the NBISD Board of Trustees can be found on their website.