GUIDE: Full list of candidates, where to vote in Southwest Nashville for Aug. 6 election

Tennessee will hold its state and federal primaries Aug. 6. (Wendy Sturges/Community Impact Newspaper)
Tennessee will hold its state and federal primaries Aug. 6. (Wendy Sturges/Community Impact Newspaper)

Tennessee will hold its state and federal primaries Aug. 6. (Wendy Sturges/Community Impact Newspaper)

Tennessee will hold its state and federal primary elections Aug. 6, during which registered voters will also cast their ballots for local county and school board representatives.

What races are up for election this year?

Voters will cast their ballots for state and federal primaries to determine which party candidates will appear on the November election ballot. Voters will also choose representatives for the city of Oak Hill and Davidson County positions as well as the Metro Nashville Public Schools board of education.

What do I need to bring?

Voters in Davidson County should bring a Tennessee or federal photo ID, as required by state law. They should also bring a face mask, as required by Metro Nashville's mandate.

Who is on the ballot?

Voters can find a full list of candidates below, with incumbents marked with an asterisk. For the Williamson County Schools board of education election, voters may choose one candidate for the district in which they are eligible.

Editor's note: The July 2020 print edition of Community Impact Newspaper did not include Byron Bush, who is running as a Republican candidate for one of Tennessee's U.S. Senate seats. Bush is a Brentwood-area resident registered to run from ZIP code 37211. The updated, full list of candidates can be found below.

U.S. senator

  • R: Clifford Adkins

  • R: Natisha Brooks

  • R: Byron Bush

  • R: Roy Dale Cope

  • R: Terry Dicus

  • R: Tom Emerson Jr.

  • R: George S. Flinn Jr.

  • R: Bill Hagerty

  • R: Jon Henry

  • R: Kent A. Morrell

  • R: Glen L. Neal Jr.

  • R: John E. Osborne

  • R: Aaron L. Pettigrew

  • R: David Schuster

  • R: Manny Sethi

  • D: Marquita Bradshaw

  • D: Gary G Davis

  • D: Robin Kimbrough

  • D: James Mackler

  • D: Mark Pickrell

  • I: Yomi "Fapas" Faparusi Sr.

  • I: Jeffrey Alan Grunau

  • I: Ronnie Henley

  • I: G. Dean Hill

  • I: Steven J. Hooper

  • I: Aaron James

  • I: Elizabeth McLeod

  • I: Kacey Morgan

  • I: Eric William Stansberry

U.S. representative, District 5

  • D: Jim Cooper*

  • D: Keeda J. Haynes

  • D: Joshua Rawlins

State senator, District 18

  • R: Ferrell Haile*

  • I: John A. Gentry

State senator, District 20

  • R: Steven Reid Dickerson*

  • D: Kimi Abernathy

  • D: Heidi Campbell

State representative, District 50

  • D: Bo Mitchell*

State representative, District 51

  • D: Bill Beck*

State representative, District 52

  • R: Donna Tees

  • D: Mike Stewart*

  • D: James C. Turner II

State representative, District 53

  • D: Jason L. Powell*

State representative, District 54

  • D: Terry Clayton

  • D: Vincent Dixie*

State representative, District 55

  • D: John Ray Clemmons*

State representative, District 56

  • R: Diane Michel Canada

  • D: Bob Freeman*

State representative, District 58

  • D: Harold M. Love*

State representative, District 59

  • D: Jason Potts*

State representative, District 60

  • D: Darren Jernigan*

  • D: Grant Thomas Medeiros

Chancellor, Chancery Court Part I, District 20

  • D: Patricia Head Moskal

Judge, Criminal Court Division 4, District 20

  • D: Jennifer Smith

Assessor of property

  • D: Vivian Wilhoite*


  • D: Erica Gilmore

Metro Nashville Public Schools board of education, District 1

  • Barry Barlow

  • Sharon Gentry*

  • Robert Taylor

Metro Nashville Public Schools board of education, District 3

  • Brian Hubert

  • Emily Masters

Metro Nashville Public Schools board of education, District 5

  • Christiane Buggs*

Metro Nashville Public Schools board of education, District 7

  • Freda Player-Peters*

Metro Nashville Public Schools board of education, District 9

  • Russelle Ann Bradbury

  • Abigail Tylor

Oak Hill city commissioner

(Voters may select three candidates)

  • Zach Baldwin

  • Elizabeth “Liz” Beavers

  • John DeLuca

  • David P. Demarco

  • Winston Evans

  • Stacy Widelitz*

Where can I vote?

Early voting

Registered voters can vote at any early voting location through Aug. 1.

  • Belle Meade City Hall, 4705 Harding Pike, Nashville

  • Bellevue Library, 720 Baugh Road, Nashville

  • Bordeaux Library, 4000 Clarksville Pike, Nashville

  • Casa Azafrán Community Center, 2195 Nolensville Pike, Nashville

  • Edmondson Pike Library, 5501 Edmondson Pike, Nashville

  • Goodlettsville Community Center, 200 Memorial Drive, Goodlettsville

  • Green Hills Library, 3701 Benham Ave., Nashville

  • Hermitage Library, 3700 James Kay Lane, Hermitage

  • Howard Office Building, 700 Second Ave. S., Nashville

  • Madison Library, 610 Gallatin Pike S., Madison

  • Southeast Library, 5260 Hickory Hollow Parkway, Antioch

Election day

Voters in Davidson County can vote at their assigned precinct election day from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Southwest Nashville locations are listed below. Voters can find a full list of Davidson County polling places here.

  • Nashville Public Library Edgehill Branch, 1409 12th Ave. S., Nashville

  • Berry Hill City Hall, 698 Thompson Lane, Nashville

  • Watkins Park Community Center, 616 17th Ave. N., Nashville

  • Centennial Park Art Center, 301 25th Ave. N., Nashville

  • Westmeade Elementary School, 6641 Clearbrook Drive, Nashville

  • Belle Meade City Hall, 4705 Harding Pike, Nashville

  • Brook Hollow Baptist Church, 678 Brook Hollow Road, Nashville

  • Tennessee Technology Center, 100 White Bridge Pike, Nashville

  • Nashville Fire Dept. Station No. 17, 3911 West End Ave., Nashville

  • West End Middle School, 3529 West End Ave., Nashville

  • Jet Potter Scout Service Center, 3414 Hillsboro Pike, Nashville

  • Church of the Redeemer, 920 Caldwell Lane, Nashville

  • YWCA Nashville and Middle Tennessee, 1608 Woodmont Blvd., Nashville

  • Church of Christ, 3805 Granny White Pike, Nashville

  • Calvary United Methodist Church, 3701 Hillsboro Pike, Nashville

  • Gordon Jewish Community Center, 801 Percy Warner Blvd., Nashville

  • Hillsboro Presbyterian Church, 5820 Hillsboro Pike, Nashville

  • Brentwood Hills Church of Christ, 5120 Franklin Pike, Nashville

By Wendy Sturges
A Houston native and graduate of St. Edward's University in Austin, Wendy Sturges has worked as a community journalist covering local government, health care, business and development since 2011. She has worked with Community Impact since 2015 as a reporter and editor and moved to Tennessee in 2019.


The Centers for Disease Control released new guidance on in-person instruction for K-12 grade schools on March 19. (Courtesy Pexels)
CDC loosens guidelines on social distancing in schools

The updated guidance recommends students maintain 3 feet of social distancing in classrooms while wearing masks.