VOTE 2019: John Cooper, David Briley head to mayoral runoff

Updated 10:05 p.m. Aug. 1

With all precincts now reporting, take a look at the final results from tonight's election below:

Jody Ball: 0.27%
David Briley*: 25.30%
Julia Marguerite Clark-Johnson: 0.39%
John Ray Clemmons: 16.08%
John Cooper: 35.01%
Bernie Cox: 0.33%
Jimmy Lawrence: 0.30%
Jon Sewell: 0.22%
Nolan O. Starnes: 0.13%
Carol Swain: 21.89%
Write-in: 0.08%

Updated 9:10 p.m. Aug. 1

With 143 of 161 precincts reporting, Nashville mayoral candidates John Cooper and incumbent David Briley are heading to a runoff election. Cooper leads with 35.14%, or 33,429 votes, while Briley has received 25.32%, or 24,089 votes.

A runoff election will be held between the top two candidates on Sept. 12. Early voting for the runoff election will be held Aug. 23-Sept. 5.

Cooper shared the following tweet around 8:45 p.m.

Briley also acknowledged the runoff election at a campaign watch party.

Updated 9 p.m. Aug. 1

With 98 of 161 precincts reporting, John Cooper holds 35.37% of the votes in the race for Nashville mayor. In second place is incumbent David Briley with 25.75% of votes. Cooper has received 26,987 votes, while Briley has received 19,644.

Updated 8:30 p.m. Aug. 1

With one-third of precincts reporting, John Cooper remains in the lead for Nashville mayor with 22,514 votes, or 35.91%. Incumbent David Briley remains the second highest candidate with 16,380 votes, or 26.13%. Cooper and Briley are followed by Carol Swain, who has received 20.84% of votes.

According to the Davidson County Election Commission, 53 of 161 precincts are currently reporting.

Posted 7:25 p.m. Aug. 1

John Cooper has taken an early lead in the race for Nashville mayor, according to early voting results. Cooper has received 18,249 votes, or 36.61% of votes.
Incumbent David Briley has received 26.62% of the votes, or 13,268 votes, while Carol M. Swain has received 20.41% of the votes, or 10,172 votes.

Ten candidates are running for Nashville mayor this year, including incumbent Mayor David Briley, who was elected mayor in the 2018 special mayoral election. Should Briley win this year’s election, he will remain Metro Nashville’s eighth mayor and would be eligible to run for a second term in the next general election.

Should a candidate on one or more races not receive more than 50% of the vote, a runoff election will be held between the top two candidates on Sept. 12. Early voting for the runoff election would be held Aug. 23-Sept. 5.

All results are unofficial until canvassed.


CBD oil
Hemp production, CBD on the rise in Southwest Nashville

Hemp production has risen dramatically in the past year.

Mayor John Cooper speaks at his inauguration event Sept. 28 at Stratford STEM Magnet High School. Dylan Skye Aycock/Community Impact Newspaper
Metro Nashville Police officers to wear body cameras during pilot program

A report commissioned by District Attorney Glenn Funk estimated the deployment of body-worn cameras department-wide would cost Metro Nashville more than $36 million per year.

Clothing store L.A. Green now open at Capitol View in downtown Nashville

L.A. Green was founded in 2011 in Starkville, Mississippi.

The Mall at Green Hills is located at 2126 Abbott Martin Road, Nashville. Dylan Skye Aycock/Community Impact Newspaper
IMPACT ROUND-UP: See which 5 stores are now open and coming soon to The Mall at Green Hills

Check out five stores now open or coming soon to The Mall at Green Hills.

Ludlow's Gumbo Bar & Steak opens in 12 South in Nashville

The restaurant in 12 South is operated by the owners of Brentwood-based restaurant Ludlow & Prime.

The Harding House
The Harding House closes at the Belle Meade Plantation

The Harding House opened at the Belle Meade Plantation in 2011.

Big Machine
Big Machine Distillery & Tavern opens Berry Hill location in Nashville

The distillery is owned by Nashville-based Big Machine Label Group.

Red Phone Booth
Cocktail lounge Red Phone Booth now open in downtown Nashville

Red Phone Booth is modeled after a Prohibition-era speakeasy.

Daniel Diermeier
Vanderbilt names University of Chicago Provost Daniel Diermeier as ninth chancellor

Daniel Diermeier replaces Nicholas S. Zeppos, who stepped down in August after more than a decade as the university's chancellor.

Back to top