Metro Nashville Public Schools board approves chair, vice chair


The Metro Nashville Public Schools board approved at the Sept. 10 meeting two board members to serve one-year terms as chair and vice chair.

District 4 school board member Anna Shepherd was elected to serve as the board’s chair. According to a district policy, the board must elect at the first meeting in September a chair, vice chair and Tennessee Legislative Network representative.

Shepherd, who served two terms as chair in 2016-18, succeeds outgoing chair District 1 school board member Sharon Gentry. District 9 school board member Amy Frogge replaces District 5 school board member Christiane Buggs as vice chair.

As chair, Shepherd will preside at all school board meetings, appoint committees authorized by the board and conduct board hearings. Shepherd will also be responsible for preparing the annual school budget with Director of Schools Adrienne Battle.

The board approved Buggs to serve as the TLN representative. As the board’s legislative contact, Buggs will report at board meetings on the latest state legislative information, according to MNPS.

Share this story

Leave A Reply

Back to top