The 2019-20 school year began for local schools in August, and motorists will notice school zones in effect and school buses on the road.
When driving through a school zone, motorists are required to obey reduced speed limits, which typically range from 15-25 miles per hour. According to Tennessee state law, drivers are prohibited from passing a school bus when it is loading or unloading, or when the bus is stopped and displaying flashing lights and a stop signal arm.
Motorists should also mind Tennessee Law 55-8-151, which mandates a driver must stop when near a school bus that is stopped and operating a visual signal. If the road is divided by a left-turning or painted lane, drivers on both sides must stop, according to the Tennessee Department of Transportation.
If the lanes are separated by a physical barrier or median, only motorists traveling in the same direction as the bus are required to stop. Failure to comply with the state laws could result in a misdemeanor charge and fine of between $250-$1,000.