John Cooper to become next mayor of Nashville, Thom Druffel to take District 23 seat


Following the concession of Nashville Mayor David Briley, John Cooper received a substantial portion of votes in Nashville Sept. 12 runoff election.

With all precincts reporting, Cooper received 69% of the vote, or 62,404 votes, while Briley earned 30%, or 27,255 votes. Write-in votes accounted for less than 1% of votes.

Cooper thanked voters for their support in an election night announcement on social media.

In other races in Southwest Nashville, Thom Druffel is the likely winner of the race for council member in District 23. Druffel received 53.1% of the vote while incumbent Mina Johnson received 46.8%.

Runoff election results are also in for eight candidates running for at-large positions on Metro Nashville Council.

Results for the at-large candidates are as follows:
Burkley Allen*: 13.1%
Fabian Bedne*: 11.3%
Steve Glover*: 13%
Sharon W. Hurt*: 15.3%
Howard Jones: 11.5%
Gary W. Moore: 9.6%
Zulfat Suara: 13%
Sheri Weiner*: 12.5%

The top four candidates—Allen, Glover, Hurt and Suara—are expected to take at-large seats, joining Bob Mendes, who won an at-large seat in the Aug. 1 Metro Nashville election.

All results are unofficial until canvassed.

*indicates incumbent or current council member

Share this story

Leave A Reply

Wendy Sturges
A Houston native and graduate of St. Edward's University in Austin, Wendy Sturges has worked as a community journalist covering local government, health care, business and development since 2011. She has worked with Community Impact since 2015 as a reporter and editor and moved to Tennessee in 2019.
Back to top