Voter registration deadline approaches for Davidson County Sept. 12 runoff election

Davidson County voters will return to the polls for a runoff election Thursday, Sept. 12, to decide the next mayor as well as four at large council member seats and district council member seats. Voters must be registered by Tuesday, Aug. 13, to cast a ballot in the runoff election.

Early voting begins Friday, Aug. 23, and runs through Thursday, Sept. 5. During the first week of early voting, voters can only cast their ballots at the Howard Office Building in downtown Nashville. Beginning Friday, Aug. 30, voters can visit any of the 11 early voting locations. Polls are open 8 a.m.-5:30 p.m. (Mon. and Fri.), 8 a.m.-7 p.m. (Tue. and Thurs.) and 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. (Wed. and Sat.).

Davidson County residents must meet the following criteria to register for the Sept. 12 runoff election:

  • be a U.S. citizen;

  • be at least 18 years old by the election;

  • be a resident of Davidson County;

  • must not have been convicted of a felony, or if convicted, the applicant must have had voting rights restored

Those who want to register for the Sept. 12 runoff election have several options:

  • hand-deliver a physical application to the Davidson County Election Commission offices at 1417 Murfreesboro Pike, Nashville, and 800 2nd Ave. S., Nashville, between 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday

  • mail an application to the Davidson County Election Commission at P.O. Box 650, Nashville, Tennessee, 37202. The physical application must be postmarked by Aug. 13

  • visit the Tennessee Secretary of State's website to register to vote or to update an existing voter registration

Voters in Southwest Nashville will see the following candidates on the Sept. 12 ballot:


Nashville mayoral candidates John Cooper and incumbent David Briley will be on the runoff ballot. During the Aug. 1 general election, Cooper received 35.01% of votes, while Briley received 25.3%.

At large council

Incumbent At Large Council Member Bob Mendes claimed one of the five at large seats with 10.92% of votes on Aug. 1. Because none of the other 14 candidates received more than 10% of votes, the top eight candidates qualified for the runoff election. Candidates Burkley Allen, Fabian Bedne, Steve Glover, Sharon Hurt, Howard Jones, Gary Moore, Zulfat Suara and Sheri Weiner will be on the ballot.

District council

Incumbent District 23 Council Member Mina Johnson will face Thom Druffel in a runoff election after none of the three candidates in the race received 50% or more of the vote. Johnson received 46.82%, or 2,116 votes, while Druffel received 43.90% of the vote, or 1,984votes.

Editor’s note: Only districts in Community Impact Newspaper’s Southwest Nashville coverage area are listed above. For a complete list of results, click here.