The Williamson County Election Commission relocated to a larger space at 405 Downs Blvd. in Franklin as the 2022 election cycle kicks off with candidates registering to run for county office.

“The members of the election commission and the election commission staff are excited about our new office space and the new location on Downs Boulevard,” Elections Administrator Chad Gray said. “Historically, our office has only occupied two structures in its existence, the historic Williamson County Courthouse and more recently, since the late 1980s, a portion of the Williamson County Administrative Complex Office. We are glad that we have a larger facility and parking area for our voters and the public.”

This week the office released candidate and voter deadlines for a busy political year.

As of Dec. 20 candidates seeking election to any county office can be issued qualifying petitions to run in the May 3 Republican and Democratic primaries and the Aug. 4 general election. Those petitions are due by noon Feb. 17 to appear on the Aug. 4 ballot.

County Mayor Rogers C. Anderson petitioned to run for re-election Dec. 20 alongside 25 other Republican candidates.

The county Republican and Democratic primaries are May 3, and the general election is Aug. 4.

The voting registration deadline for the May 3 county primary elections is April 4, and the early-voting period is April 13 through 28.

The voter registration deadline for the Aug. 4 state county general election is July 5 with the early-voting period being July 15 through July 30.

Offices on the ballot for the May 3 primaries and Aug. 4 general election include all Williamson County Board of Commissioners seats; county school board; Franklin Special School District board members; county mayor; county clerk; trustee; register of deeds; circuit court, general sessions and juvenile court judges; district attorney general; public defender and clerks of court.

The voter registration deadline is Oct. 10 in the state and municipal general elections scheduled for Nov. 8. Early voting will be between Oct. 19 and Nov. 3.

Candidate petitions will be issued as of June 20 with the petitions being due by noon Aug. 18.

State and federal offices on the Aug. 4 primary ballot and Nov. 8 general election ballot are the U.S. House of Representatives, 7th District; Tennessee State Senate, 23rd District; Tennessee House of Representatives, districts 61, 63 and 65; and the State Executive Committee, 23rd District.

For more information visit the election website at or call the election commission office at 615-790-5711.