Fourteen candidates have filed to run in five open positions in this year's election for the Franklin Board of Mayor and Aldermen.

The election, to be held Oct. 26, will feature four ward seats up for election as well as an at-large position. Each ward alderperson serves a four-year term. Four of the five races will be contested as Franklin Alderperson Beverly Burger is running unopposed, according to filings from the Williamson County Election Commission.

Not included on the candidate list released by the commission are incumbent alderpersons Scott Speedy, Margaret Martin and Dana McLendon, who announced he would not seek re-election earlier this year.

Ward candidates include:

Ward 1

  • Beverly Burger*

Ward 2

  • Matt Brown

  • Angela Hubbard

  • Tina Pierret

  • Mike Vaughn

Ward 3

  • Samatha Degrasse

  • Jason Potts

  • Michelle Sutton

Ward 4

  • Patrick Baggett

  • Elizabeth Wanczak

In addition to the ward seats, one at-large position will be up for grabs this year. The seat became open following the death for former alderperson Pearl Bransford in November. The winner of that race will serve the rest of the term set to expire in 2023.

At-large candidates include:

  • Gabrielle Hanson

  • John Haynes

  • Bhavani Muvvala

  • Alan Simms

Dates to know

Last day to register to vote: Sept. 27

Early voting: Oct. 2-21

Election day: Oct. 26

*Denotes incumbent candidate