Ask the editor: When will newly elected officials take office?


With the Nov. 6 election behind us, a number of new and returning officials will soon assume their roles.

Newly elected officials in Harris and Montgomery counties will take office Jan. 1, 2019, according to representatives with the Montgomery County Elections Office and Harris County Clerk’s Office.

Both counties will welcome a new county judge. Mark Keough will lead Montgomery County while Lina Hidalgo will lead Harris County. However, Montgomery County Precinct 2 and Harris County Precinct 4 commissioners Charlie Riley and Jack Cagle, respectively, were both re-elected.

State legislators-elect, such as Valoree Swanson, Tom Oliverson and Cecil Bell Jr., will take office Jan. 8, 2019, according to the Texas Constitution.

For those elected to the U.S. Congress, including Rep. Michael McCaul, the 116th Congress will convene Jan. 3, 2019, on which day members-elect will be sworn in, according to the 20th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.

Share this story

Leave A Reply

Anna Lotz
Anna joined Community Impact Newspaper as a reporter in May 2016 after graduating with a degree in journalism from Cedarville University in Cedarville, Ohio. In July 2017, she transitioned to editor. Anna covers education, local government, transportation, business, real estate development and nonprofits in the Tomball and Magnolia communities. Prior to CI, Anna served as editor-in-chief of Cedars, interned with the National Journalism Center in Washington, D.C., and spent time writing for the Springfield News-Sun and Xenia Daily Gazette.
Back to top