All three Lone Star College trustee seats up for election this November will be contested

Three positions on the Lone Star College board of trustees are up for election this November, and two candidates have filed to run for each seat. The deadline to file for a place on the ballot was Aug. 20.

Lone Star College trustees, of which there are nine in total, represent different districts within the system's service area. The seats up for election include District 1, which represents LSC-CyFair, District 2, which represents LSC-North Harris, and District 8, which represents LSC-Kingwood.

Trustees are responsible for setting budgets and tax rates each year, appointing the LSCS chancellor, setting and refining system policies, approving contracts and monitoring system activities to ensure the system is meeting the needs of the communities it serves.

The board meets monthly, typically on the first Thursday of the month, at the LSC System Office, 5000 Research Forest Drive, The Woodlands. However, September and October board meetings are slated to take place at the LSC-North Harris Student Services Building, 2700 W.W. Thorne Drive, Houston.

Trustees serve six-year terms without compensation. None of the incumbents representing the districts up for election—David Holsey, Kyle Scott and Ron Trowbridge—have filed to run for re-election.

The following candidates will be on ballots this November.

District 1

Michael Stoma
Senior project manager with BP

George Edwards Jr.
Certified public accountant with Exxon Mobil

District 2

Ernestine M. Pierce
Retired/adjunct profession with Lone Star College

Matthew Wheeler
Program director with Mission Squash of Houston

District 8

Mike Sullivan
Director of government and public affairs with Group1 Automotive, former Harris County tax assessor-collector

G. Puente
Real estate broker with Expert Way Realty, adjunct professor with Lone Star College

By Shawn Arrajj
Shawn Arrajj serves as the editor of the Cy-Fair edition of Community Impact Newspaper where he covers the Cy-Fair and Jersey Village communities. He mainly writes about development, transportation and issues in Harris County.


student writing on paper
Texas Legislature allows parents to opt for students to repeat grade levels or courses

Senate Bill 1697 is effective for the 2021-22 school year.

Outside of the Alan B. Sadler Commissioner's Courthouse in Conroe
Montgomery County commissioners vote on proposed tax rate, set date for public hearing on FY 2021-22 budget

A public hearing is scheduled for Aug. 20 to adopt the final budget and tax rate for the 2021-22 fiscal year.

School supplies will be exempt from the 8.25% sales tax Aug. 6-8. (Courtesy Adobe Stock)
What to know before the statewide tax-free weekend Aug. 6-8

Customers will not have to pay the standard 8.25% sales tax on select clothing, footwear, school supplies and backpacks under $100.

Houston Firefighters
Appeals court rules in favor of union in longstanding Houston firefighters pay parity case

The measure, known as Proposition B, requires Houston firefighters to receive the same pay as Houston police officers of comparable rank. 

According to a July 21 district news release, all eligible full-time teachers, nurses, librarians and counselors will receive a one-time stipend of $2,000, while all other eligible staff will receive a one-time payment of $1,000 on or before the Sept. 30 paycheck. (Courtesy Fotolia)
Humble ISD board approves COVID-19 retention stipend for returning employees

According to a July 21 district news release, all eligible full-time teachers, nurses, librarians and counselors will receive a one-time stipend of $2,000, while all other eligible staff will receive a one-time payment of $1,000 on or before the Sept. 30 paycheck.

Titus Express Car Wash is hosting a grand opening event beginning at 7 a.m. July 31 at the car wash, 23685 Walton Avenue, New Caney. (Courtesy of Titus Express Car Wash)
Titus Express Car Wash in New Caney to host grand-opening event

Terry Schmidt, Titus Express Car Wash owner, said the event will feature free car washes all day, free food and snow cones, and face paintings and balloons for kids. Attendees will also have a chance to win Astro’s game tickets and gift cards at the event.

Main Chick Hot Chicken opened its first brick-and-mortar location July 23 in Sugar Land. (Courtesy Main Chick Hot Chicken)
Main Chick Hot Chicken opens in Sugar Land; Urban Bird Hot Chicken coming to Cy-Fair and more Houston-area news

Read the latest business and community news for the Houston area, including two new chicken restaurants.

Houston-area residents will be able to apply online for a one-time payment of $1,500 from July 28-Aug. 11. (File photo)
$30M COVID Relief Fund opens for Harris County residents as eviction moratorium ends

Sourced by funding from the American Rescue Plan Act, eligible residents will receive a one-time payment of $1,500 to support urgent needs.

Exterior of Alan B. Sadler Commissioners Court building
Montgomery County officials discuss employee raises on first day of budget workshops

Montgomery County commissioners debated the possibility of a 5% raise in salaries across the board as a priority for the 2021-22 fiscal year budget.

Pride Houston Parade
Pride Houston fall parade and festival canceled due to COVID-19 concerns

The downtown annual parade and festival, scheduled for Sept. 25, will be replaced by a Montrose block party and other events, organizers announced July 25.

The CDC reversed its masking guidance for fully vaccinated individuals in response to the transmissibility of the delta variant of COVID-19 in a press conference July 27. (Community Impact Newspaper staff)
NEW CDC GUIDANCE: All individuals should wear masks in K-12 schools, including those who are fully vaccinated

The new CDC guidance, announced July 27, also recommends people in areas with "high" or "substantial" levels of transmission wear masks regardless of vaccination status.