UPDATE 10/11: See Q&As for all San Marcos candidates as they are published here: https://communityimpact.com/section/vote/

In November, San Marcos residents will be able to vote between several candidates for three City Council seats and the mayoral seat.

City Council places 4, 5 and 6, currently held by Jane Hughson, Scott Gregson and Melissa Derrick, respectively, are up for election this fall as well as the mayor’s office, currently held by John Thomaides.

Early voting and Election Day polling sites for the November 2018 elections were approved by Hays County commissioners Aug. 7, with some location changes and extended hours at some sites to address a growing population.

  • Oct. 9-Last day to register to vote

  • Oct, 22-First day of early voting

  • Oct. 26-Last day to apply for ballot by mail

  • Nov. 2-Last day of early voting

  • Nov. 6-Election Day

Mayoral candidate-Brian Henderson

Brian Henderson, a local resident, is running for San Marcos mayor.

He is a pastor and the founder and president of the Foundation of Youth, Civil Rivers, Law and Government. He previously ran unsuccessfully for the City Council in 2016 and the San Marcos CISD school board in 2017.

Mayoral candidate-Jane Hughson

Jane Hughson is running for San Marcos mayor.

She was elected to the San Marcos City Council in November 2014 for a three-year term in Place 4 and re-elected for a three-year term in November 2017. Hughson had previously served on the City Council from May 1996 to May 2002.

Mayoral candidate-John Thomaides

John Thomaides is running for re-election as the mayor of San Marcos.

He was elected as the 45th San Marcos mayor in December 2016. Thomaides previously served as a City Council member beginning in 2003.

Council member candidate-Mark Rockeymoore

Mark Rockeymoore is seeking nomination for City Council Place 4 in this upcoming election.

Currently and for the past three years, he has served as an instructional assistant for the FOCUS Program at San Marcos High School, working with challenged populations that need guidance and aid in navigating academic and social environments.

Council member candidate-Shane Scott

Shane Scott, a former San Marcos City Council member who served from 2010-15, plans to seek election to the Place 4 City Council seat.

Scott is a local businessman and previously ran unsuccessfully for a seat on the council in 2016.

Council member candidate-Griffin Spell

Griffin Spell, a local resident, is campaigning for San Marcos City Council Place 4.

Spell has served on the San Marcos Neighborhood Commission, the Historic Preservation Commission and Open San Marcos, a pro-transparency organization.

Council member candidate-Mark Gleason

Mark Gleason, a local resident, plans to run for San Marcos City Council Place 5.

Gleason has served on the San Marcos Planning and Zoning Commission, the Neighborhood Commission and Capital Improvement Task Force.

Council member candidate-Rick Henderson

Rick Henderson, a political science senior lecturer at Texas State University, is seeking nomination for City Council Place 5.

He currently teaches a number of undergraduate and senior-level courses.

Council member candidate-Jocabed Marquez

Jocabed Marquez is a Texas State University doctoral student running for City Council Place 5.

For the past 10 years, Marquez has been a graduate research assistant in chemistry labs at The University of Texas-Pan American, the Biotechnology lab at the Texas A&M University-Kingsville Citrus Center and Texas State University.

Council member candidate-Juan Miguel Arredondo

Juan Miguel Arredondo, a fifth-generation San Marcos resident, is campaigning for the City Council Place 6 seat.

Arredondo has served on the San Marcos CISD Board of Trustees since May 2015. He also serves on the board of United Way of Hays and Caldwell Counties and Centro Cultural Hispano de San Marcos.

Council member candidate-Melissa Derrick

Melissa Derrick is seeking re-election for City Council Place 6.

She was elected to the San Marcos City Council in November 2015 for a three-year term in Place 6. She took the oath of office in November 2015.