UPDATE: With majority of votes in, Hays County Precinct 3 Republican commissioner nomination goes to Lon Shell


With all precincts reporting as of 9:49 p.m., The Republican nomination for Hays County precinct 3 commissioner will go to Lon Shell, the county’s former chief of staff.

Shell received 2,240 votes, or 567.08 percent of the vote, against challenger Colin McFerrin, who brought in 1,684, or 42.92 percent of the vote.

This is a specially-called election—Shell was appointed to the seat in 2017, when Will Conley resigned to run for county judge. Conley is unopposed on the Republican side in that race and will face either Ruben Becerra or Abel Velasquez in the general election.

Shell will face off against Democratic challenger Jimmy Alan Hall in the November general election.

Lon Shell is a Republican candidate for Hays County Precinct 3 commissioner. (via Courtesy Hays County)

Lon Shell

57.08 percent, or 2,240 votes.

Colin McFerrin is running for the Republican seat of Hays County Precinct 3. (via Courtesy Colin McFerrin)

Colin McFerrin

42.92 percent, or 1,684 votes.

All results are unofficial until canvassed. For more local primary election results and coverage, visit communityimpact.com/vote.

Share this story

Leave A Reply

Marie Albiges
Marie Albiges was the editor for the San Marcos, Buda and Kyle edition of Community Impact Newspaper. She covered San Marcos City Council, San Marcos CISD and Hays County Commissioners Court. Marie previously reported for the Central Austin edition. Marie moved to Austin from Williamsburg, Va. in 2016 and was born in France. She has since moved on from Community Impact in May 2018.
Back to top