UPDATE: See who has filed an application to run for a seat on Richardson City Council in May


This story, originally published Jan. 16, was updated Feb. 22 to include the latest filing information. 

The finalized batch of filings provided by the city secretary’s office shows four incumbents and nine newcomers submitted applications for a seat on Richardson City Council. The mayor will also run for re-election.

City Council members Scott Dunn, Place 3; Mabel Simpson, Place 4; and Marta Gomez Frey, Place 5, have confirmed they will not seek re-election in May. The three remaining incumbents—Bob Dubey, Mark Solomon and Steve Mitchell—will run again. Mayor Paul Voelker filed his application for re-election Feb. 1.

Nine newcomers have thrown their hats in the ring. Vying for the Place 3 seat that will be left vacant by Dunn are Janet Depuy, Dan Barrios and Franklin Byrd. Kenneth Hutchenrider and Mauri Long have applied to run for Frey’s Place 5 seat. Vying for Simpson’s Place 4 seat are Kyle Kepner, Raymond DeGuzman Sr. and Johnny Lanzillo. Incumbent Bob Dubey will be challenged by newcomer Jason Clarke.

Richardson ISD’s move to a majority single-member district voting system following the settlement of a lawsuit last week means its will likely be postponed until November, pending approval by a federal judge.

Here is a list of City Council candidates who will appear on the May 4 ballot.

Richardson City Council candidates

Incumbent Paul Voelker

Place 1
Incumbent Bob Dubey
Jason Clarke

Place 2
Incumbent Mark Solomon

Place 3
Janet DePuy
Dan Barrios
Franklin Byrd

Place 4
Raymond DeGuzman Sr.
Johnny Lanzillo
Kyle Kepner

Place 5
Kenneth Hutchenrider
Mauri Long

Place 6
Incumbent Steve Mitchell

Share this story

Leave A Reply

Olivia Lueckemeyer
Olivia Lueckemeyer graduated in 2013 from Loyola University New Orleans with a degree in journalism. She joined Community Impact Newspaper in October 2016 as reporter for the Southwest Austin edition before her promotion to editor in March 2017. In July 2018 she returned home to the Dallas area and became editor of the Richardson edition.
Back to top